> JUST FOR YOU > Students & Teachers
Zhejiang Sci-Tech University
2012-05-29 21:59:05

Located in Hangzhou, a historical city blessed with rich resources, talented people and prosperity, the Zhejiang Sci-Tech University is a provincial key industrial university with distinct characteristics. It has disciplines in science, industry, literature, economy, management, law and education. In April 1999, the university changed the name of Zhejiang Silk Industrial College into Zhejiang Engineering College under the approval of the Ministry of Education. It was re-named as Zhejiang Sci-Tech University in May 2004 with the approval from the Ministry of Education.  

Derived from the Silkworm School founded in 1897, the university boasts a long history and is one of the earliest education institutes in China. The school started to enroll students to study for bachelor degree in 1979 and started master program in 1979. It got conferral right of master's degree in 1983 and obtained the approval right of vice professor from the Ministry of Education in 1993. The school began to cultivate doctors with Zhejiang University in 1995 when the school was approved to recruit student from other countries, Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan. It got the conferral right of masters degree for part-time students in 2000, got the conferral right of masters degree of engineering program in 2002 and then got the conferral right of doctors degree and the masters degree of the full-time teacher and the approval right of professor qualification in 2002. The school has formed diverse educations such master education, undergraduate education, oversea student education, international cooperation education and adult education.

Zhejiang Sci-Tech University is a provincial university gaining preferential support in its construction and development with distinct features and outstanding advantages. Priority is given to engineering and meanwhile it is aimed at a balanced development in all the disciplines including science, engineering, literature, economics, management, law, and education. It consists of 17 schools (teaching departments) and 1 independent college. At present, there are over 26,000 full-time students including over 1,900 postgraduates. There are 51 specialties for undergraduate studies including 7 featured specialties at the state or ministerial level and 11 provincial key specialties (including those under construction). The university is entitled to confer doctor’s degree in 2 programs, master’s degree in 4 first-class discipline programs and 30 second-class discipline programs, engineering master’s degree in 7 fields, and 5 master’s degree programs for on-job college or university teachers. It has 4 provincial Premier Disciplines, 1 provincial Base of Humanities and Social Sciences, 8 provincial or ministerial Key Disciplines, 1 Key Laboratory of the Ministry of Education, 1 Engineering Research Center of the Ministry of Education, 3 provincial Key Laboratories, 3 provincial Research Platforms, 2 state-level Experimental Teaching Demonstration Centers, 3 State-level Excellent Courses. It also has 1 Innovation Group of the Ministry of Education, 6 State-level New Century Hundred-Thousand-Ten-Thousand Talent Program Fellows, 4 New Century Excellent Scholar Support Program Fellows of the Ministry of Education, 5 provincial-level distinguished professors, 39 doctoral supervisors, 44 provincial Collegiate Young and Middle-Aged Discipline Leaders, 44 provincial New Century 151 Talent Project Fellows at the first and second level including 3 receiving major financial support, 32 teachers receiving State Council Special Government Subsidy, and over 170 adjunct professors who are renowned experts and scholars both at home and abroad.

12345 >
[Print] [Close]
Produced By 大汉网络 大汉版通发布系统